Michelle Brooker, second grade teacher at Indian Trails Elementary School, was named the 2019-2020 Fort Osage R-1 School District Educator of the Year on April 29, 2019.

“My whole life, I knew I was going to be a teacher.  I wanted to have the power to positively influence other people and to quite possibly leave a long lasting impression,” said Brooker.

An alum of Fort Osage High School, Michelle went on to pursue higher education at Northwest Missouri State University.  She earned a Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education and a Masters in Reading both from Northwest Missouri State.  She began her teaching career in May 2011 at Indian Trails Elementary teaching first grade and moved to second grade in 2017.  She is a member of the Fort Osage Community Educators Association and has served as their treasurer since 2016.  She has had the opportunity to serve on the science and social studies content teams and on the Indian Trails Building Leadership team.

Michelle will now begin the application process for the Missouri Teacher of the Year program.

Congratulations Ms. Brooker and all of the building Teacher of the Year winners:

Melissa Hall

Margie Anderson

Alyx Fenton

Lori Huber

Michelle Brooker

Paul Dial-Scruggs

Stephanie Nichols

Kim Meneses

Ginger McCabe

Blue Hills



Elm Grove

Indian Trails

Fire Prairie

Osage Trail

High School

Career & Technology Center